THE WORLD OF JOHN CARDER BUSH: Fellow poet and writer John Carder Bush (brother of Kate) has launched his website at www.johncarderbush.com today to announce the publication of his novel The Cellar Gang. While I was in London, I had the rare treat to hear a little bit of John reading from this novel (an audio version is, hopefully, forthcoming) and I was enthralled. The writing was clear and very, very clever. Here's a synopsis from John himself:

As Christmas approaches, a group of animals struggle to survive in the cellar of a large, old house. Above them, Barry, Bess and their children are preparing for divorce and separation. In the tradition of Wind in the Willows and Watership Down, we enter into the lives of the animals.

However, that’s where the similarity to that tradition ends! This is not a children’s book. It will put you off getting divorced, having pets and living in rambling, Victorian houses for the rest of your lives.

Set in South London in the present, this tragedy of a family break-up quickly develops into a hilarious black comedy as the animals plot to take over the house with fatal results. What starts as an urban fable becomes a romp of magical realism that will take you through all the relationships of the characters involved and beyond - even beyond the grave!

With a considerable amount of foul language, and animal violence, this little book is not for the faint-hearted.

Hardly anyone gets out alive…

John decided to self-publish the work (good on you, John!) and the results look gorgeous. The novel is printed in a hardback limited edition of 500 (the first 50 hand-numbered and signed) on creamy woven paper with a silk bookmarker. You can order the book and find out more about John's other upcoming projects (including a collection of short stories and spoken word) on the website.

I've had the honor of my own poetry appearing alongside John's beautiful work in the pages of HomeGround in the UK for a couple of years now. I am so excited to be able to share his website and work with you. Please consider buying a copy. You will be delighted!

Comments

Anonymous said…
Sounds very cool. I'll have to check this out. I dont really have time to read so maybe I should wait for the CD?

TJ
Collin said…
Oh, just buy the book. Trust me. You'll love it! Mine is on the way, and I'm very excited.
Stranger Ken said…
Forgive me for putting this comment in entirely the wrong place, Collin, but I wanted to refer back to your interview with C. K. Williams and couldn't find the post. As you know, he's not that well known over here, although his work is published by Bloodaxe Books, and I certainly hadn't read him. However, having read your interview, I acquired a copy of "The Singing", have now read it and wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it. An original voice and fascinating points of view throughout. Thanks!
I'll be on the lookout for more of his work.

Popular Posts